EZ Beauty

Beauty. Easy. Simple. Smart.

“She did WHAT??” March 4, 2008

Filed under: Makeup — ezbeauty @ 3:40 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Ok, Sunday night I was hanging out with my sister and our friend. I put some makeup on and left my stuff on the bottom of a little shelf I have where I keep all my makeup and didn’t think about it again. A couple hours later we were in the living room watching TV and I hear my cat, DeeDee, meowing by the stairs, but I don’t think anything of it. Our friend leaves at 11PM and I’m about to head upstairs when I notice … my powder brush laying at the foot of the stairs. It’s an art brush made from goat hair.

For a second I think, “Did I bring this downstairs?” but I’m sure I didn’t. I asked my sister if she brought it down and she said no. So I realize my cat must have done it. DeeDee can be quite an ornery little butt, and she’s also very intrigued by natural things – my leather ballet slippers, my 16th birthday lillys which poisoned her and ended in an extended vet stay but that’s another story, the hay in our nativity scene … and now, apparently my goat hair brush. So gross. I went to wash it the next morning and the bristles were stiff with her saliva. *GAG* That erased any doubt in my mind that she was the culprit. I washed the brush with shampoo first and then twice with antibacterial Dial soap (something I would NEVER normally do to a brush, by the way). I also washed by little blush brush that was laying with the powder brush – just in-case.

I brought them into my room and laid them on a towel on the floor to dry. Normally I would have put them on my desk or something, but there wasn’t space for them anywhere else at the moment. Later that afternoon I was downstairs on the family computer. My sister sticks her head in the door and says, “DeeDee’s in your room, by the way. She’s asleep on your bed.”

Ok, cool, I don’t mind her being in there.

“When I looked in there a little while ago,” my sister continues, “she was rubbing her face on your brush.”

CRUD!!! “I just washed it this morning!” I moan. Uhg, why didn’t I think? I left it right on the floor, in plain site. I couldn’t have done worse if I had tossed the brush to DeeDee and said, “here, have fun.”

So I went to wash the brush again. The bristles were stiff with dried spit again. I washed it with shampoo and twice with antibacterial Dial soap again. I’m going to spray a little diluted alcohol on it. I’m going to have to buy brush shaper to reshape some of the mangled bristles. That is, if I can ever bring myself to use it on my face again. I think I might just buy a new kabuki …

So, to all you makeup-loving people out there, if you have a curious, devious, or otherwise mischievous cat in your home I suggest you make sure you keep your brushes under lock and key – or at the vary least, out of their reach.The Little … Dear

 

Leave a Reply

